OT studying in the Twin City Area

Moderators: Domejandro, Worm Guts, Calinks

Basti
Retired Mod
Retired Mod
And1: 3,678

OT studying in the Twin City Area 

Post#1 » by Basti » Tue Nov 4, 2008 12:26 am

I don't know if anyone knows what I'm currently studying so I say it here: Scandinavian Studies. it doesn't really matter anway. but today I read a text about some scandinavian lectures and at one point it was mentioned that the University of Minnesota also has an institute of Scandinavian Studies. I was actually quite surprised in the 1st moment but then I recalled that there are a lot of people with scandinavian heritage living in Minnesota.
it got me thinking if I could somehow manage to be able to study for an exchange semester over there. so my point is: does anyone here know how much it would cost me to live there for half a year? what are the regular prices for an apartment, for food or for other costs that are inevitable.
I also talked to a man who's responsible for exchange programmes (even if he's only in charge for Europe) and he told me it is relatively likely for me to gain a scholarship. if that is true it would make it all way easier considering there's a huge difference between Europe and America in terms of tuition fees.

thx in advance for any help!
PeeDee
Sixth Man
And1: 66

Re: OT studying in the Twin City Area 

Post#2 » by PeeDee » Tue Nov 4, 2008 12:58 am

You can get a studio apt in some neighborhoods of Minneapolis for around $485-$500 a month. If you want roomies, you can probably get a better deal than that. Check craigslist.org Almost anywhere in Minneapolis is on the U of M bus line. Most apts will include utilities.

It's hard to give you a cost on food, I don't know what you eat.
theGreatRC
RealGM
And1: 4,881

Post#3 » by theGreatRC » Tue Nov 4, 2008 1:18 am

^
Damn, that is such a good price. Me & my sister are paying 1,600 for an apartment here in California
Dysfunctional Wolves fan
PeeDee
Sixth Man