Introducing Adjusted Impact Rating

Moderator: Doctor MJ

houstonredox93
Sophomore
And1: 27

Introducing Adjusted Impact Rating 

Post#1 » by houstonredox93 » Tue Jan 27, 2015 6:12 pm

I have created a new top-down metric which I call Adjusted Impact Rating. A description of the stat, as well as the ratings for the 2013-14 season can be found at adjustedimpactrating.weebly.com
Feel free to ask any questions about why the formula is set up how it is or if you are curious why a certain player received a certain rating.
houstonredox93
Sophomore

Re: Introducing Adjusted Impact Rating 

Post#2 » by houstonredox93 » Thu Jan 29, 2015 3:12 pm

So no questions about ratings or how the formula was created? I know i'm not THAT good at explaining this stat haha.
Doctor MJ
Senior Mod
Senior Mod
And1: 19,479

Post#3 » by Doctor MJ » Sat Jan 31, 2015 3:05 am

Okay, so I've taken a look at it. I think I understand it. Basically you're trying to create a PER-esque model by using on/off-based regression instead of actual individual stats. Is this right?

If so, I'm impressed with the skill involved in creating it, but I have to ask: What information are you hoping to get out of it?

I can see a perspective that would say that a metric like this is superior to PER and its ilk based on a focus of impact rather than something that credits guys for their hoarding of stats. If done right, with ample sample size, this would indeed be a better metric.

However, I see no reason to think it would be a better metric than actual RAPM stats. Seems like you're just adding distractors from the true value given that if your metric has ample sample size to be trusted, then so does RAPM.

Thoughts?