Assessing Defensive Impact

Moderator: Doctor MJ

yosemiteben
Forum Mod - Hornets
Forum Mod - Hornets
And1: 13,634

Assessing Defensive Impact 

Post#1 » by yosemiteben » Mon Mar 2, 2015 9:34 pm

I'd enjoy reading a discussion of the best metrics to use to assess the impact a player has on the defensive end of the floor. On the Hornets you have two players, MKG and Bismack Biyombo, who are most valuable on that end of the floor, but quantifying that value can be difficult.

I typically start by looking at +/- numbers like those on 82games, then look at defensive tracking and opponent shooting data on stats.nba.com. Unless I have a lot of experience watching players, that's normally where I leave off.

Now let's say there is a debate going on about how much Kyrie Irving's defense has improved this year. What metrics do you think are most appropriate to use to assess the extent of the improvement in his defense? I find myself often feeling like I'm not capturing enough of the picture with the approach I mentioned above, but I'm not sure where else to turn to provide meaningful data.
blabla
Sophomore
And1: 76

Re: Assessing Defensive Impact 

Post#2 » by blabla » Mon Mar 2, 2015 10:07 pm

Best defensive metric is probably ESPN's Real Plus Minus http://espn.go.com/nba/statistics/rpm/_/sort/DRPM
bondom34
Retired Mod
Retired Mod
And1: 50,209

Post#3 » by bondom34 » Mon Mar 2, 2015 10:20 pm

Yeah, DRPM is probably easiest/most accessible. For bigs, I'd add Nylon Calculus's Rim Protection numbers:
http://nyloncalculus.com/stats/rim-protection/
MyUniBroDavis wrote: he was like YALL PEOPLE WHO DOUBT ME WILL SEE YALLS STATS ARE WRONG I HAVE THE BIG BRAIN PLAYS MUCHO NASTY BIG BRAIN BIG CHUNGUS BRAIN YOU BOYS ON UR BBALL REFERENCE NO UNDERSTANDO
yosemiteben
Forum Mod - Hornets
Forum Mod - Hornets
And1: 13,634

Post#4 » by yosemiteben » Tue Mar 3, 2015 5:03 pm