Gasol touching the rim not Goal Tending under the rules
Posted: Tue Jun 9, 2009 9:27 pm
RULE NO. 11-BASKETBALL INTERFERENCE-GOALTENDING
(my comments in bold)
Section I-A Player Shall Not:
a. Touch the ball or the basket ring when the ball is using the basket ring as its lower base.
EXCEPTION: If a player near his own basket has his hand legally in contact with the ball, it is not a violation if his contact with the ball continues after the ball enters the cylinder, or if, in such action, he touches the basket.
The ball was not touching the basket ring (rim) as its lower base when Gasol touched the rim.
b. Touch the ball when it is above the basket ring and within the imaginary cylinder.
Gasol did not touch the ball.
c. For goaltending to occur, the ball, in the judgment of the official, must have a chance to score.
I will address this below.
d. During a field goal attempt, touch a ball after it has touched any part of the backboard above ring level, whether the ball is considered on its upward or downward flight.
Gasol did not touch the ball.
e. During a field goal attempt, touch a ball after it has touched the backboard below the ring level and while the ball is on its upward flight.
Gasol did not touch the ball.
f. Trap the ball against the face of the backboard. (To be a trapped ball, three elements must exist simultaneously. The hand, the ball and the backboard must all occur at the same time. A batted ball against the backboard is not a trapped ball.)
Gasol did not touch the ball.
g. Touch any live ball from within the playing area that is on its downward flight with an opportunity to touch the basket ring. This is considered to be a "field goal attempt" or trying for a goal.
Gasol did not touch the ball.
h. Touch the ball at any time with a hand which is through the basket ring.
Gasol did not touch the ball. This is Howard's goaltending not called.
i. Vibrate the rim or backboard so as to cause the ball to make an unnatural bounce.
Here's where some may say Gasol broke the rule... but did the ball make an unnatural bounce? Didn't look like it. The specific rule language is very interesting here with "unnatural".
Back to C: Since none of the factors that would make it "goaltending" occurred, this one is moot whether the official felt the ball had a chance to score or not.
.
Not interference by Gasol since none of rule 11 a-i occurred.
(my comments in bold)
Section I-A Player Shall Not:
a. Touch the ball or the basket ring when the ball is using the basket ring as its lower base.
EXCEPTION: If a player near his own basket has his hand legally in contact with the ball, it is not a violation if his contact with the ball continues after the ball enters the cylinder, or if, in such action, he touches the basket.
The ball was not touching the basket ring (rim) as its lower base when Gasol touched the rim.
b. Touch the ball when it is above the basket ring and within the imaginary cylinder.
Gasol did not touch the ball.
c. For goaltending to occur, the ball, in the judgment of the official, must have a chance to score.
I will address this below.
d. During a field goal attempt, touch a ball after it has touched any part of the backboard above ring level, whether the ball is considered on its upward or downward flight.
Gasol did not touch the ball.
e. During a field goal attempt, touch a ball after it has touched the backboard below the ring level and while the ball is on its upward flight.
Gasol did not touch the ball.
f. Trap the ball against the face of the backboard. (To be a trapped ball, three elements must exist simultaneously. The hand, the ball and the backboard must all occur at the same time. A batted ball against the backboard is not a trapped ball.)
Gasol did not touch the ball.
g. Touch any live ball from within the playing area that is on its downward flight with an opportunity to touch the basket ring. This is considered to be a "field goal attempt" or trying for a goal.
Gasol did not touch the ball.
h. Touch the ball at any time with a hand which is through the basket ring.
Gasol did not touch the ball. This is Howard's goaltending not called.
i. Vibrate the rim or backboard so as to cause the ball to make an unnatural bounce.
Here's where some may say Gasol broke the rule... but did the ball make an unnatural bounce? Didn't look like it. The specific rule language is very interesting here with "unnatural".
Back to C: Since none of the factors that would make it "goaltending" occurred, this one is moot whether the official felt the ball had a chance to score or not.
.
Not interference by Gasol since none of rule 11 a-i occurred.