Analyzing Maxprep's High School Team Performance

Moderator: Doctor MJ

draggingwalt
Ballboy
And1: 0

Analyzing Maxprep's High School Team Performance 

Post#1 » by draggingwalt » Sun Jun 17, 2012 3:22 am

My apologies if this post doesn't belong here. I figured this would be more of interest to the statistically-inclined than in the high school forum.

I'm a social scientist and am currently doing research on how the quality of boys and girls basketball teams vary by state and school size. I have Jeff Sagarin's data on Indiana schools, and have done some preliminary analyses. My work suggests that small schools tend to produce a disproportionate number of very weak girls teams. http://draggingwalton.net/uncategorized ... athletics/

Your documentary provided a nice counterpoint, suggesting that there are small (and presumably conservative on the whole) communities who vigorously support women's athletics. Ken Massey was kind enough to share his ranking data from maxpreps.com for all 50 states. Recalling the excellent documentary Class C, I wanted to look up the small high schools (<200 students) featured.

I was a bit surprised to see some very small Class C schools (e.g., Twin Bridges and Belt) ranked among the top ten schools in the entire state: http://www.maxpreps.com/rankings/girls- ... ontana.htm