NBA Advanced Stats Visualisation

Moderator: Doctor MJ

lavy91
Ballboy
And1: 7

NBA Advanced Stats Visualisation 

Post#1 » by lavy91 » Fri Aug 25, 2017 9:36 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm doing a bachelors degree in statistics and I made this WebApp as a project for my data visualisation class.
I hope you guys would find some of the visualizations helpful.

There are 4 visualizations in there:
1. Passing Star- A star/radar plot to compare different players' passing skills.
2. Shooting Scatterplot - An interactive multi-dimensional scatterplot to compare players shooting ability in various situations.
3. Correlation Matrix- A matrix to see correlations between different metrics (probably not so useful but maybe cool nonetheless).
4. Position Comparisons- A Box-violin plot to compare players' per-game stats by positions.

LINK: https://lavyfriedman.shinyapps.io/nbaproject/

Here is an example of a visualization of Kyrie vs. Isaiah (specifically on passing and shooting ability)

Hope you guys mess around with it and enjoy, and of course I would love some input if you have any. :)
cpower
RealGM
And1: 7,165

Re: NBA Advanced Stats Visualisation 

Post#2 » by cpower » Thu Sep 21, 2017 5:33 pm

Is there a option to compare the stats in per usage basis? Sometimes I'd like to compare players assuming their usg% and poss% are similar, because players like Westbrook would simply overpower any comparisons because of his insane production because of usg% .

By the way, really nice site though. Keep up the great work!
jambalaya
Sixth Man
And1: 286

Post#3 » by jambalaya » Wed Oct 18, 2017 10:49 pm

Is there a table for the stats correlation matrix? Me, I'd rather have the table but both ways can be a good route to take.