Ben Simmons - does he drag his teammates down?

Moderator: Doctor MJ

Village Idiot
General Manager
And1: 2,001

Ben Simmons - does he drag his teammates down? 

Post#1 » by Village Idiot » Tue May 5, 2020 9:02 am

Much has been made of Ben Simmons inability to shoot outside of 5 feet and his fit with Joel Embiid. He's definitely one of the more controversial players in the league. His valuation is all over the place. Some view him as a top 10 player, some as a top 25 player and a few rate him as a negative value player.

Looking at his new teammates it seems like Harris, Horford and Richardson all shot worse with the Sixers than they did with their previous teams.

I am not good with basketball statistical analysis but I would be interested to hear what the experts on this board have to say about these question:

- Do Simmons' new teammates perform worse than they did previously?
- Do Simmons' previous teammates perform better once they no longer play with him?
- Do Simmons' teammates play better with him off the court than on?

Thanks for the assistance!
"There are no right answers to wrong questions." - Ursula K. Le Guin
Hussien Fatal
Veteran
And1: 1,399

Re: Ben Simmons - does he drag his teammates down? 

Post#2 » by Hussien Fatal » Wed May 6, 2020 7:55 pm

Ben Simmons is an extremely important player for the sixers. He is first in the league In 3pt assists as well. The team runs very smooth with him in the game, his main problem and it’s a very important one is his lack of production in crunch time as he is nearly useless. But he has really improved his free throw shooting and now he is becoming less of a liability there. He is certainly a top 15 player and a very good two way player that certainly makes his teammates better.
They call me Hussien Fatal its a two game table im robbin you **** cradle wit a knife in your navel....
HotelVitale
RealGM
And1: 9,814

Post#3 » by HotelVitale » Wed May 6, 2020 10:58 pm