Page 1 of 1

Reacquiring a player whose rights were traded

Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2008 6:05 pm
by loserX
I know that under the current CBA, team A cannot trade player X and then re-acquire him in trade during the same contract year (i.e. July 1 - June 30).

Does the same provision apply to players whose rights were traded, if the player was not signed at the time?

For example, the Wizards traded the draft rights to Juan Carlos Navarro to the Grizzlies on August 17th; the Grizzlies then signed him to a contract. Can he be traded back to the Wizards this year, or does the above rule apply? (My guess is that the rule applies and he cannot be traded back, but I'm looking for confirmation.)

Thanks!

Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 5:07 am
by Dunkenstein
In an email I got from Larry, he said that as far as he knows the reacquiring rule only applies to contracts. Ergo, the Grizzlies could trade Navarro back to the Wizards this season.

Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 8:00 am
by loserX
Dunkenstein wrote:In an email I got from Larry, he said that as far as he knows the reacquiring rule only applies to contracts. Ergo, the Grizzlies could trade Navarro back to the Wizards this season.


Ah, interesting. Thanks for the info!