CJ McCollum Plans To Retire With Pelicans, Eligible For Extension On Aug. 9

Moderators: bwgood77, Domejandro

RealGM Wiretap
RealGM
And1: 293

CJ McCollum Plans To Retire With Pelicans, Eligible For Extension On Aug. 9 

Post#1 » by RealGM Wiretap » Wed Apr 27, 2022 7:25 pm

CJ McCollum has been with the New Orleans Pelicans for less than three months, but he is already fully committed to the franchise.

“I’m not going nowhere. I’m here,” McCollum recently told Andscape. “Where am I going to go? Leave for what? I want to retire here. I’m 30 years old and I have a son who is 13 weeks old. I’m married. When you have something good, you hold on to it. This is something fun for both sides. We’re going to grow. I’m still learning the city. I’m going to find a house.”

McCollum and the Pelicans reached the playoffs out of the Play-In despite not having Zion Williamson in the lineup.

McCollum will be eligible for a three-year contract extension on August 9th.

"I can’t say anything about that," said McCollum. "We haven’t talked yet. I haven’t talked to upper management. But I told my wife before I left [Portland] that ‘Wherever I go, I want to finish my career. New Orleans is on the list of places I would like to finish my career.’ I told my agent that. I’m not about bouncing around. I don’t go through free agency. I’ve been in the league nine years. Have you ever seen me be a free agent?

"When I’m committed to something, I’m committed to it. New Orleans, in my mind, I’m finishing my career here. That is how I devote myself to a city, things and people."

Via Marc J. Spears/ESPN

King4Day
RealGM
And1: 9,224

Re: CJ McCollum Plans To Retire With Pelicans, Eligible For Extension On Aug. 9 

Post#2 » by King4Day » Wed Apr 27, 2022 8:42 pm

They're lucky to have him. I expect him to get a big extension this summer and that'll help transition the team, with Zion, into a top 5 or 6 seed next year.
"Sometimes, the dragon wins" #RallyTheValley
Duke4life831
Forum Mod
Forum Mod