Deandre Ayton Could Sign Offer Sheet Soon

Moderators: bwgood77, Domejandro

RealGM Wiretap
RealGM
And1: 293

Deandre Ayton Could Sign Offer Sheet Soon 

Post#1 » by RealGM Wiretap » Thu Jul 7, 2022 1:30 pm

Deandre Ayton's free agent market has apparently been paralyzed by trade talks involving the Phoenix Suns and Brooklyn Nets. Now, it appears we could soon see movement with Ayton.

Reports out of Phoenix are that Ayton could sign an offer sheet, possibly as soon as Thursday. That would force the Suns hands on matching his deal or letting him leave.

Ayton has been rumored to be a part of trade for Kevin Durant via a sign-and-trade to the Nets. However, Brooklyn doesn't seem to have a lot of interest in acquiring Ayton in a Durant trade, which would mean involving a third team in any potential deal.

The only two teams with the cap space to sign Ayton to an offer sheet are the Indiana Pacers and San Antonio Spurs. Indiana has been mentioned as a possible landing spot for Ayton. This goes as far back as the 2022 trade deadline, when the Pacers considered dealing for young center.

Via John Gambadoro/98.7 FM Phoenix

deeps6x
General Manager
And1: 5,889

Re: Deandre Ayton Could Sign Offer Sheet Soon 

Post#2 » by deeps6x » Thu Jul 7, 2022 4:07 pm

Just sign a deal with the Spurs already. Costs them nothing. If they don't get matched, they have a great asset they can trade for picks in half a year. If they do get matched, Ayton gets the higher salary, and can't be included in a KD trade right away.
BoyzNTheHood wrote:I apologize, I have incredibly small genitalia
23artest23
Head Coach
And1: 193

Post#3 » by 23artest23 » Thu Jul 7, 2022 4:17 pm