Klay Thompson: I Wouldn't Want To Go Anywhere Else

Moderators: bwgood77, Domejandro

RealGM Wiretap
RealGM
And1: 294

Klay Thompson: I Wouldn't Want To Go Anywhere Else 

Post#1 » by RealGM Wiretap » Wed Oct 11, 2023 3:03 pm

Klay Thompson is entering the final season of his current contract with the Golden State Warriors, which puts his basketball future into question.

“It’s not going to be a thing,” Thompson told Anthony Slater of The Athletic. “The fact that I’m going into my 13th season — that alone — it gives me such peace of mind. Granted, I’ve made money, I’ve been able to take care of my family, myself, the people I love. But when I started playing this game, I never once thought I’m playing the game because I’m going to be rich and famous. Never did.

“I played this game because my dad played. I idolized him. My favorite athletes were hoopers. Kobe (Bryant). Clyde Drexler and Rasheed Wallace, guys I was able to watch growing up. Reggie Miller. I just wanted to do something I loved for a living. It happened to be basketball. The fact I’m doing it for a 13th straight season is amazing.

“I don’t need to go into this year and … I know if I just do my job and I’m in shape and I compete at my highest level, I’m going to make money in this league for a long time. So I don’t worry about it. I’m blessed beyond measure. Obviously you want to make the most in the window you have as an athlete. But I’m not going to let that get in the way of winning a championship. When you win, everything else will be taken care of.”

Andrew Wiggins and Draymond Green recently gave the Warriors hometown discounts, which may end up being the reality for Thompson as well.

The Warriors are committed to keeping Thompson, which their trade of Jordan Poole clearly signaled.