Jacob deGrom Wins 2nd Consecutive NL Cy Young Award

Moderator: TyCobb

RealGM Wiretap
Posts: 66,233
And1: 178
Joined: Mar 19, 2013

Jacob deGrom Wins 2nd Consecutive NL Cy Young Award 

Post#1 » by RealGM Wiretap » Thu Nov 14, 2019 3:22 am

Jacob deGrom has won his second straight Cy Young award, receiving 29 of 30 first place votes.

DeGrom, 31, joins Randy Johnson, Tim Lincecum, Clayton Kershaw, Scherzer, Greg Maddux and Sandy Koufax on the list of NL back-to-back winner.

Hyun-Jin Ryu finished second in voting.

\"I feel like I was trying to better what I did in 2018,\" deGrom said Wednesday. \"I think that was something I struggled with to start this year, was kind of dwelling on what happened last year. Kind of not focusing on the task ahead as much as I probably should have.\"

Via David Schoenfield/ESPN

Return to Wiretap Headlines Discussion