Page 1 of 1

Is it a self pass / travel if the ball hits ONLY mesh?

Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2018 6:44 pm
by ballbrah
This happened in a pick up game and I cannot find any rules on the subject. If you airball a shot, it is considered a self pass, which is a travel. You can bang it off the backboard, and it is not a self pass. but what if the ball ONLY hits the mesh? is it live for the shooter to pick up without it being considered a self pass? Or is it considered a travel?

What do you think RealGM?

Re: Is it a self pass / travel if the ball hits ONLY mesh?

Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2018 6:46 pm
by mike d
yes it's a travel. Ball has to hit rim

Re: Is it a self pass / travel if the ball hits ONLY mesh?

Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2018 6:47 pm
by ballbrah
mike d wrote:yes it's a travel. Ball has to hit rim


But you can whip it off the backboard without hitting rim and it is not considered a travel, which is why I want to know about just mesh.

Re: Is it a self pass / travel if the ball hits ONLY mesh?

Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2018 6:51 pm
by The Beam King
mike d wrote:yes it's a travel. Ball has to hit rim


high school and NBA this true. college its not.college allows any attempted shot to be rebounded by the shooter

Re: Is it a self pass / travel if the ball hits ONLY mesh?

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 12:53 am
by DoItALL9
The intent is a factor I believe.

Sent from my [device_name] using [url]RealGM mobile app[/url]

Re: Is it a self pass / travel if the ball hits ONLY mesh?

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 1:07 am
by DoubleLintendre
It's 100% a travel. It's gotta touch rim or at minimum backboard no matter what rules you're using.

Re: Is it a self pass / travel if the ball hits ONLY mesh?

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 1:21 am
by ballbrah
DoubleLintendre wrote:It's 100% a travel. It's gotta touch rim or at minimum backboard no matter what rules you're using.


Can you find the rule on subject on the internet? I can't find anything specifically talking about mesh.

Thanks bro

Re: Is it a self pass / travel if the ball hits ONLY mesh?

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 1:27 am
by Pennebaker
ballbrah wrote:This happened in a pick up game and I cannot find any rules on the subject. If you airball a shot, it is considered a self pass, which is a travel. You can bang it off the backboard, and it is not a self pass. but what if the ball ONLY hits the mesh? is it live for the shooter to pick up without it being considered a self pass? Or is it considered a travel?

What do you think RealGM?


That's still an airball. The ball has to hit the rim or the backboard. That's in the rulebook. Anything else will be a travel.

Re: Is it a self pass / travel if the ball hits ONLY mesh?

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 1:27 am
by DoubleLintendre
ballbrah wrote:
DoubleLintendre wrote:It's 100% a travel. It's gotta touch rim or at minimum backboard no matter what rules you're using.


Can you find the rule on subject on the internet? I can't find anything specifically talking about mesh.

Thanks bro


I don't know where you'd find an official ruling. Anywhere I've ever played pick up or watched ball, hitting bottom net only is an airball.

On some baskets, there isn't even a net. If someone were to flick the ball under the basket in that area, it would hit nothing--therefore constituting as an airball.

Re: Is it a self pass / travel if the ball hits ONLY mesh?

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 1:31 am
by HartfordWhalers
I would advice dedicating the time to finding a new pickup game versus internet Judge Wapner'ing the issue.

Re: Is it a self pass / travel if the ball hits ONLY mesh?

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 1:33 am
by wudupp
its a travel if it hits mesh, if it goes off the backboard the clock doesnt reset but its a shot attempt

Re: Is it a self pass / travel if the ball hits ONLY mesh?

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 1:56 am
by LakersLegacy
What type of net? If the net is chain then it’s a rebound!

Re: Is it a self pass / travel if the ball hits ONLY mesh?

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 1:58 am
by Drop Shot
Apparently in FIBA rules a shooter can rebound his own shot no matter what, the intent of a shot just has to be there

Re: Is it a self pass / travel if the ball hits ONLY mesh?

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 2:06 am
by anthony00
yes but there are usually little to know rules in pickup

Re: Is it a self pass / travel if the ball hits ONLY mesh?

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 2:07 am
by Hugi Mancura
Different rules around the world:
NBA if you only hit mesh and take the ball it is travelling. If you hit backboard it ain't. So in NBA mesh and backboard are treated differently.
In international rules (FIBA) mesh and backboard are equal. Only rim matters, but if referee thinks you really tried to score, but just sucked so badly you missed the rim, then you can take rebound and it is not called travelling. If referee thinks you missed or passed to yourself on purpose then travelling is called, even with backboard.
So if you ever travel abroad don't be surprised if it's called differently.

Re: Is it a self pass / travel if the ball hits ONLY mesh?

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 2:08 am
by og15
The mesh technically doesn't count as hitting anything, it's just there so that when the ball goes in, it comes downward

Re: Is it a self pass / travel if the ball hits ONLY mesh?

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 2:11 am
by PapaBear53
At the high school level it is not a travel unless in the referee's judgment it was done intentionally. I have refereed HS ball for over 10 years. Not sure at the college or pro level since I have never done those.

Re: Is it a self pass / travel if the ball hits ONLY mesh?

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 2:11 am
by Jakay
og15 wrote:The mesh technically doesn't count as hitting anything, it's just there so that when the ball goes in, it comes downward


And to mimic the shape of a peach basket.

Anyhow OP, you travelled, big time. Mesh=nothing.

Re: Is it a self pass / travel if the ball hits ONLY mesh?

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 2:15 am
by whitehops
i can tell this turned into a 10+ minute argument in which case you should've just done ball don't lie.

i'm assuming you're from north america so it would be an airball and a travel, if you're not then fiba rules say you can rebound it.

Re: Is it a self pass / travel if the ball hits ONLY mesh?

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 9:59 am
by koningcosmo
i know FIBA changed it into, every shot attempt can be rebounded. so no need to hit the rim or backboard. Not sure about the American rules.