AussieBuck wrote:bizarro wrote:mattg wrote:It's not a foul because it was an out of control move. Minimal contact.
Come on now. I know Gortat is a liability in the post and this clumsy display proves it...
but if that's Duncan spinning (albeit with more purpose and coordination, yes) on the post you know that's a foul call. All the way. He hand checked him from the moment he caught the ball. To the moment he spun right. To the moment he nudges him to the baseline and to the ground. It's indisputable, imho. It's a foul.
It's not hand checking in the post. That's the rule.
Look, I don't want to beat a dead horse, I really don't. But, I want the rules to be understood as they are. And, I want the bias to be recognized.
The rule clearly states: A defender may not place and keep his hand on an opponent unless he is in the area near the basket
with his back to the basket. A defender may momentarily touch an opponent with his hand anywhere on the court as long as it does not affect the opponent’s movement (speed, quickness, balance, rhythm).
I bold these two items because Gortat clearly pivots and faces the basket. Duncan keeps his hand on Gortat. Duncan pushes Gortat out of bounds. The rule changes the moment he faces the basket. It's undeniable. Read the rules and follow the video evidence. Duncan isn't called because he's Duncan. Gortat doesn't get the call because he's Gortat. And, yes, he looks humorous in the gif. Nowhere near as hilarious as Bargnani.
Does this resonate with you?