Is this a travel?
Moderators: KingDavid, cupcakesnake, Domejandro, ken6199, infinite11285, Clav, Dirk, bwgood77, bisme37, zimpy27
Re: Is this a travel?
-
wallflower
- Senior
- Posts: 631
- And1: 111
- Joined: Dec 17, 2008
Re: Is this a travel?
Dirk does this all the time except he pivots away from the basket and shoots a fadewaway on the opposite foot.
Re: Is this a travel?
- Duffman100
- Forum Mod - Raptors

- Posts: 48,353
- And1: 73,211
- Joined: Jun 27, 2002
-
Re: Is this a travel?
emunney wrote:Nastradamus wrote:Unless he replants his original pivot foot, which in this case is his left, it isn't a travel.
Lol, this move is often taught in youth practices as well.
What if, instead of shooting, he jumps on that one foot, with his left foot dangling in the air and doesn't place it down. That's not a travel then, but looks super weird.
Re: Is this a travel?
- CharlieMurphy
- Junior
- Posts: 250
- And1: 10
- Joined: Feb 25, 2009
Re: Is this a travel?
Duffman100 wrote:Nastradamus wrote:Duffman100 wrote:Is this thread really 24 pages? It's a travel.
![]()
![]()
Homie, you dont have a clue about the rules of the game and obviously you've never played or whistled a single second of organized ball.
I have actually and I've made that move, and been called for a travel. But nice assumption there pal.
As far as I was aware, once you've established a pivot foot, you can't lift that pivot foot and take another step...only to shoot.
He's essentially changing pivot feet there, no?
changing his pivot foot would require lifting the original pivot foot, rotating on the other foot and then putting the first foot back down without getting rid of the ball. That would be a travel.
Again, it is very clear in the rules that you can lift your pivot foor from the ground as long as it does not touch the ground again before the ball if out of your hands. And yes, this means you can take a step with you other foot while leaving the pivot foot in the air and just stand there for as long as is legal depending on where you are on the court.
Re: Is this a travel?
- emunney
- RealGM
- Posts: 63,163
- And1: 41,703
- Joined: Feb 22, 2005
- Location: where takes go to be pampered
Re: Is this a travel?
Duffman100 wrote:emunney wrote:Nastradamus wrote:Unless he replants his original pivot foot, which in this case is his left, it isn't a travel.
Lol, this move is often taught in youth practices as well.
What if, instead of shooting, he jumps on that one foot, with his left foot dangling in the air and doesn't place it down. That's not a travel then, but looks super weird.
That's a travel for a different reason.
h. Upon ending his dribble or gaining control of the ball, a player may not touch the floor consecutively with the same foot (hop).
Here are more legal notices regarding the Posts
Re: Is this a travel?
- Wavy Q
- RealGM
- Posts: 24,317
- And1: 2,390
- Joined: Jul 10, 2010
- Location: Pull Up
-
Re: Is this a travel?
mid-post wrote:Probably the most entertaining thing about this thread is seeing people who are so sure of themselves start to admit they might be wrong, and then ultimately caving to the logic. It's pretty rare that you actually get to see that kind of thing, especially people admitting that they are wrong. It's kind of weird to witness.
I'll admit, I was almost in that boat, but I made sure to carefully check the rules and read the thread before I posted.
Pretty much
Re: Is this a travel?
-
schaffy
- Sixth Man
- Posts: 1,912
- And1: 396
- Joined: Jun 20, 2007
-
Re: Is this a travel?
I used to think that move was a travel until I made a similar move once in a game. I thought for sure I was going to get called for it but no ref blew the whistle. There was a timeout called right after and I went up and asked a ref if it was actually legal or they just missed it (we were already up big late, they may have just wanted the game over too). He said that it was a legal move as long as my pivot foot didnt land, I was allowed to jump/shoot off that foot. So it doesnt surprise me at all that some people dont know its legal.
Re: Is this a travel?
- Scraptor
- Lead Assistant
- Posts: 5,256
- And1: 1,884
- Joined: Nov 17, 2005
Re: Is this a travel?
Okay, I tried to follow through this thread, and I get the rule about shooting or passing before the pivot foot returns to the ground, but what I don't understand is this:
A.
1. You establish your pivot foot.
2. As soon as you put your weight onto the other foot and lift the first foot off the ground, have you not switched pivot foots, thus rendering the above rule invalid?
B.
If this was not the case, why do they call a travel on dragging the pivot foot? If the anti-travel camp is correct, you theoretically should be able to shift onto your other foot as long as you are in the motion of passing or shooting.
A.
1. You establish your pivot foot.
2. As soon as you put your weight onto the other foot and lift the first foot off the ground, have you not switched pivot foots, thus rendering the above rule invalid?
B.
If this was not the case, why do they call a travel on dragging the pivot foot? If the anti-travel camp is correct, you theoretically should be able to shift onto your other foot as long as you are in the motion of passing or shooting.
Re: Is this a travel?
- MaxRider
- RealGM
- Posts: 44,473
- And1: 5,805
- Joined: Jun 08, 2005
- Location: Choke City
-
Re: Is this a travel?
d. If a player, with the ball in his possession, raises his pivot foot off the floor, he must pass or shoot before his pivot foot returns to the floor. If he drops the ball while in the air, he may not be the first to touch the ball.
not travel
Re: Is this a travel?
-
Roscoe Sheed
- RealGM
- Posts: 11,404
- And1: 5,312
- Joined: May 01, 2007
- Location: Los Angeles
Re: Is this a travel?
Scraptor wrote:Okay, I tried to follow through this thread, and I get the rule about shooting or passing before the pivot foot returns to the ground, but what I don't understand is this:
A.
1. You establish your pivot foot.
2. As soon as you put your weight onto the other foot and lift the first foot off the ground, have you not switched pivot foots, thus rendering the above rule invalid?
B.
If this was not the case, why do they call a travel on dragging the pivot foot? If the anti-travel camp is correct, you theoretically should be able to shift onto your other foot as long as you are in the motion of passing or shooting.
that is what I'm saying. Is the dragging of one's pivot foot a whole separate issue?
Re: Is this a travel?
- sixerswillrule
- RealGM
- Posts: 16,685
- And1: 3,628
- Joined: Jul 24, 2003
- Location: Disappointment
Re: Is this a travel?
Nastradamus wrote:sixerswillrule wrote:Oh yeah, I completely agree. I wasn't trying to act like I was better than anyone who still thought it was a travel because this was me 2 years ago in a thread just like this and I was more persistent than anyone in believing that it was an illegal move. I was just shocked to hear anyone argue differently because that's what I had thought from years of playing and watching basketball without seeing or hearing anything to show me otherwise.
There's a reason for confusion from so many people on this issue. You almost never see a player take full advantage of this move during a game. By that, I mean stopping, pivoting, picking up your pivot completely up into the air and in front of your body, and putting all your energy into jumping forward off of your non-pivot foot. It's just not done.
I'm honestly very curious to see what would happen if players started doing this much more often. I don't see it happening, though, because I have a feeling that they think just like many fans think, that it is a travel.
I know i aint acting nothing. It dont matter what people think in a pickup game, what matters is what people think around organized basketball. It is a rather basic move indeed. It's practiced A LOT, not only to use it in a game, but to develop co-ordination. It seems like an easy move, but in reality, it requires quite a bit coordination to pull off effectively, especially in a game situation, hence the rather seldom use of it in the NBA. Also, it's easier to do an up and under off of one leg which basically gives you the same result.
Saying some people in the NBA dont know this move? Im damn sure even Eddy Curry knows this move's not a travel. Probably any highschool kid too, that finds time to go to practice once in a while, instead of rolling a joint.
I disagree. There's a HUGE difference between how often this move should be used(fairly often considering how advantageous it can be) and how often this move actually is used(almost never). I don't think you can simply write off that difference as a result of it being a difficult move to perform(which I don't even agree with). There's gotta be more to it than that.
Re: Is this a travel?
- Steve Brule
- Veteran
- Posts: 2,867
- And1: 124
- Joined: Feb 17, 2009
Re: Is this a travel?
just consulted my boss about this one, who played a short stint of ball at MSU.
"Yes that's a travel, you can't lift your pivot. That's basketball 101. Come on, I thought you said you played?"
"Yes that's a travel, you can't lift your pivot. That's basketball 101. Come on, I thought you said you played?"
Re: Is this a travel?
- Kobe8Forever
- Bench Warmer
- Posts: 1,313
- And1: 210
- Joined: May 21, 2011
Re: Is this a travel?
freyguy31 wrote:just consulted my boss about this one, who played a short stint of ball at MSU.
"Yes that's a travel, you can't lift your pivot. That's basketball 101. Come on, I thought you said you played?"
well that settles it then doesn't it?
Re: Is this a travel?
- Steve Brule
- Veteran
- Posts: 2,867
- And1: 124
- Joined: Feb 17, 2009
Re: Is this a travel?
Kobe8Forever wrote:freyguy31 wrote:just consulted my boss about this one, who played a short stint of ball at MSU.
"Yes that's a travel, you can't lift your pivot. That's basketball 101. Come on, I thought you said you played?"
![]()
well that settles it then doesn't it?
haha. I know it doesn't add much value, just pointing out how ludacris it is to assume you can pick up your pivot foot. Basketball fanatics will laugh at you.
Re: Is this a travel?
-
Volcano
- RealGM
- Posts: 16,024
- And1: 7,780
- Joined: Jan 17, 2005
Re: Is this a travel?
Scraptor wrote:
B.
If this was not the case, why do they call a travel on dragging the pivot foot? If the anti-travel camp is correct, you theoretically should be able to shift onto your other foot as long as you are in the motion of passing or shooting.
You're not allowed to put your pivot foot back down on the ground. Dragging means you're dragging it on the ground. If you remove it from it's original position, it can't touch the ground at all.
You also don't call the other foot a "pivot foot" because it's not.
Re: Is this a travel?
- lataflava00
- Starter
- Posts: 2,291
- And1: 0
- Joined: Feb 22, 2007
Re: Is this a travel?
definitely not a travel.
Re: Is this a travel?
-
primecougar
- Starter
- Posts: 2,027
- And1: 978
- Joined: May 27, 2011
Re: Is this a travel?
its not a travel. go outside and play he pivots his stupid left foot and spins and jumps off his (Please Use More Appropriate Word) right foot before his pivot can touch the ground he released the ball. he didn't establish a new pivot because he released the ball.
if you guys played ball you would know. its not a travel for god sake. this thread should have ended on page 11.
you have have mods/people with so many posts think its a clear travel. smh
if you guys played ball you would know. its not a travel for god sake. this thread should have ended on page 11.
you have have mods/people with so many posts think its a clear travel. smh
#1 pick wrote:MJ wasn't more skilled than Lebron. Quite the opposite to be honest.
Re: Is this a travel?
-
syntax
- Sixth Man
- Posts: 1,506
- And1: 651
- Joined: Oct 25, 2005
- Location: downunder
- Contact:
Re: Is this a travel?
freyguy31 wrote:just consulted my boss about this one, who played a short stint of ball at MSU.
"Yes that's a travel, you can't lift your pivot. That's basketball 101. Come on, I thought you said you played?"
I can see why it was a short stint if the guy doesn't even understand one of the most basic fundamentals of basketball
Re: Is this a travel?
-
bballmaniac27
- Starter
- Posts: 2,499
- And1: 5
- Joined: Apr 16, 2007
Re: Is this a travel?
[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=83552NrHUwY[/youtube]
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S8PysevCOeA#t=00m55s
Srry I'm pretty late in this thread and didn't read the whole thing. The answer is no, it's not a travel it's just great footwork. I can't believe half of the people on realgm think it's a travel.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S8PysevCOeA#t=00m55s
Srry I'm pretty late in this thread and didn't read the whole thing. The answer is no, it's not a travel it's just great footwork. I can't believe half of the people on realgm think it's a travel.
Re: Is this a travel?
-
Roscoe Sheed
- RealGM
- Posts: 11,404
- And1: 5,312
- Joined: May 01, 2007
- Location: Los Angeles
Re: Is this a travel?
Volcano wrote:Scraptor wrote:
B.
If this was not the case, why do they call a travel on dragging the pivot foot? If the anti-travel camp is correct, you theoretically should be able to shift onto your other foot as long as you are in the motion of passing or shooting.
You're not allowed to put your pivot foot back down on the ground. Dragging means you're dragging it on the ground. If you remove it from it's original position, it can't touch the ground at all.
You also don't call the other foot a "pivot foot" because it's not.
So dragging is a travel, correct? In slow motion, you can see him dragging his pivot foot
Re: Is this a travel?
-
Boss_
- Retired Mod

- Posts: 13,852
- And1: 263
- Joined: Sep 04, 2003
- Contact:
Re: Is this a travel?
the rules have changed over the years to allow players to travel better..
in example B in the first bullet, im pretty sure back in the dayit would definately be a travel if you took 2 freeby steps and then stopped.
Also here, it says if you raise your pivot foot, you must shoot. It doesnt state that you must shoot off your pivot footYou used to have to shoot off your pivot foot, aka, jump off your pivot foot to take a shot, that might have changed 2 seasons ago now, but yeah that was travel back in the day im pretty sure. If you're at a stop and your pivot foot was established, you used to have to jump off THAT foot, not the other, it was harder.
For the 2009-10 season, the NBA modified its rule regarding traveling to update antiquated language.[1]
NBA Official Rules (2009-2010)[2]
Rule 10, Section XIII—Traveling
b. A player who receives the ball while he is progressing or upon completion of a dribble, may take two steps in coming to a stop, passing or shooting the ball.
-A player who receives the ball while he is progressing must release the ball to start his dribble before his second step. The first step occurs when a foot, or both feet, touch the floor after gaining control of the ball. The second step occurs after the first step when the other foot touches the floor, or both feet touch the floor simultaneously.
-A player who comes to a stop on step one when both feet are on the floor or touch the floor simultaneously may pivot using either foot as his pivot. If he jumps with both feet he must release the ball before either foot touches the floor.
-A player who lands with one foot first may only pivot using that foot. A progressing player who jumps off one foot on the first step may land with both feet simultaneously for the second step. In this situation, the player may not pivot with either foot and if one or both feet leave the floor the ball must be released before either returns to the floor.
c. In starting a dribble after (1) receiving the ball while standing still, or (2) coming to a legal stop, the ball must be out of the player’s hand before the pivot foot is raised off the floor.
d. If a player, with the ball in his possession, raises his pivot foot off the floor, he must pass or shoot before his pivot foot returns to the floor. If he drops the ball while in the air, he may not be the first to touch the ball.
e. A player who falls to the floor while holding the ball, or while coming to a stop, may not gain an advantage by sliding.
h. Upon ending his dribble or gaining control of the ball, a player may not touch the floor consecutively with the same foot (hop).
in example B in the first bullet, im pretty sure back in the dayit would definately be a travel if you took 2 freeby steps and then stopped.
Also here, it says if you raise your pivot foot, you must shoot. It doesnt state that you must shoot off your pivot footYou used to have to shoot off your pivot foot, aka, jump off your pivot foot to take a shot, that might have changed 2 seasons ago now, but yeah that was travel back in the day im pretty sure. If you're at a stop and your pivot foot was established, you used to have to jump off THAT foot, not the other, it was harder.








