Is this a travel?

Moderators: KingDavid, cupcakesnake, Domejandro, ken6199, infinite11285, Clav, Dirk, bwgood77, bisme37, zimpy27

droponov
Lead Assistant
Posts: 5,326
And1: 9
Joined: Jul 27, 2010

Re: Is this a travel? 

Post#101 » by droponov » Sat Jun 25, 2011 11:31 pm

andyo wrote:
Debaser wrote:
c. In starting a dribble after (1) receiving the ball while standing still, or (2) coming to a legal stop, the ball must be out of the player’s hand before the pivot foot is raised off the floor.


That rule doesn't make sense in this situation. Let's say Kobe decides to shoot off of both feet at the same time, which many of us agree is legal. According to rule (c), it's a travel since he didn't release the ball before lifting his pivot foot.


No, I think your interpretting the rule wrong. If Kobe "decided to shoot off both feet at the same time", it would be legal because

d. If a player, with the ball in his possession, raises his pivot foot off the floor, he must pass or shoot before his pivot foot returns to the floor. If he drops the ball while in the air, he may not be the first to touch the ball.


Rule d) says he must shoot or past once his pivot foot is raised off the floor. Look in the .gif, he takes an extra step after his pivot foot leaves and THEN shoots.


So what, he released the ball before his pivot foot returned to the floor.

And rule c) applies to when a player is starting the dribble. How the heck Kobe violated rule c)?
number 11
Junior
Posts: 339
And1: 0
Joined: Mar 19, 2010

Re: Is this a travel? 

Post#102 » by number 11 » Sat Jun 25, 2011 11:36 pm

ya its a travel

needs to lift off of both feet
TheOUTLAW
Retired Mod
Retired Mod
Posts: 41,920
And1: 2,757
Joined: Aug 23, 2002
     

Re: Is this a travel? 

Post#103 » by TheOUTLAW » Sat Jun 25, 2011 11:39 pm

So what, he released the ball before his pivot foot returned to the floor.

And rule c) applies to when a player is starting the dribble. How the heck Kobe violated rule c)?



That is why it would be considered switching his pivot foot. Once it is established stepping onto the other foot is considered a travel provided the pivot is still not on the floor.
UncleDrew wrote: I get Buckets!
droponov
Lead Assistant
Posts: 5,326
And1: 9
Joined: Jul 27, 2010

Re: Is this a travel? 

Post#104 » by droponov » Sat Jun 25, 2011 11:45 pm

grimballer wrote:
Volcano wrote:
grimballer wrote:
however he SWITCHED his pviot.

if what ur saying is true than a palyer could:

receive the ball in the post

establish his left foot as pivot

do couple of jab steps with his right foot

then take a big step or hop with his right foot without dribbling

n as long as his left foot is in the air its not a travel?

come on


From what I gather, you're allowed to step (i.e. lift your pivot foot as the rule book says), not hop (which would be an up and down).

It's not called switching your pivot feet. That would be like calling a 2 step lay-up establishing two pivot feet.


its different

2 step layup allows u to take 2 steps in continuation. ur not allowed to take onr step, stop then take another.

what kobe did is pick up his dribble, established his left foot as pivot, snips, plant his right foot, then lift his left (pivot) foot.

thats a travel.


Do you realize you just wrote that pivoting is travelling?
Volcano
RealGM
Posts: 16,024
And1: 7,780
Joined: Jan 17, 2005

Re: Is this a travel? 

Post#105 » by Volcano » Sat Jun 25, 2011 11:46 pm

andyo wrote:
blacktopking319 wrote:He comes to a legal stop after his pivot foot is established. His pivot foot leaves the ground and the ball is still in his hands.

kobe is not starting a dribble


He did start a dribble, he dribbled the ball once and than came to a complete stop- established his pivot foot, and lifted it before he released the ball. Look at the gif again


WTF..LOL

After he dribbles the ball once, he's no longer "starting a dribble". You realize that right? All that rule is saying is that he can't raise his pivot foot BEFORE he starts dribbling (i.e. when the ball leaves his hand).
blacktopking319
Ballboy
Posts: 13
And1: 0
Joined: Mar 19, 2010

Re: Is this a travel? 

Post#106 » by blacktopking319 » Sat Jun 25, 2011 11:46 pm

He did start a dribble, he dribbled the ball once and than came to a complete stop- established his pivot foot, and lifted it before he released the ball. Look at the gif again


bro read that rule again..........you are confused read it carefully especially the context of AFTER in it
User avatar
sixerswillrule
RealGM
Posts: 16,685
And1: 3,628
Joined: Jul 24, 2003
Location: Disappointment

Re: Is this a travel? 

Post#107 » by sixerswillrule » Sat Jun 25, 2011 11:48 pm

:lol:

Seeing so many people who believe that picking up your pivot with your other foot still on the ground is a travel puts a smile on my face.
andyo
Assistant Coach
Posts: 4,341
And1: 447
Joined: Aug 18, 2006
 

Re: Is this a travel? 

Post#108 » by andyo » Sat Jun 25, 2011 11:51 pm

I thought it wasn't a travel at first and then I read the rules and maybe I interpreted them wrong, I'm not even sure, and I changed my mind. Now I don't even know. Until someone credible in here says otherwise, I won't even comment about this anymore, it's making my head hurt.
sanctum
Junior
Posts: 351
And1: 204
Joined: May 20, 2011
   

Re: Is this a travel? 

Post#109 » by sanctum » Sat Jun 25, 2011 11:55 pm

sixerswillrule wrote::lol:

Seeing so many people who believe that picking up your pivot with your other foot still on the ground is a travel puts a smile on my face.



Yeah I don't see any rule that says this isn't allowed.
Pimpwerx
Banned User
Posts: 8,836
And1: 78
Joined: Jul 19, 2010

Re: Is this a travel? 

Post#110 » by Pimpwerx » Sun Jun 26, 2011 12:01 am

Yeah, the lack of reading comprehension is embarrassing. I only got clarification on this rule from this forum a few months ago, but it seems the rule is really easy to understand. I don't see why all the confusion. Maybe some people are going based on something they were told in like middle school play. PEACE.
Volcano
RealGM
Posts: 16,024
And1: 7,780
Joined: Jan 17, 2005

Re: Is this a travel? 

Post#111 » by Volcano » Sun Jun 26, 2011 12:01 am

^it's like an up and under. Not a travel. You're allowed to take one step off your pivot foot as long as you don't step back down.

g. If a player, with the ball in his possession, raises his pivot foot off the floor, he must pass or shoot before his pivot foot returns to the floor.


why the hell would they say "raising his pivot foot off the floor" if you have to jump with both feet?
User avatar
RaisingArizona
RealGM
Posts: 15,798
And1: 7,681
Joined: Apr 23, 2009
 

Re: Is this a travel? 

Post#112 » by RaisingArizona » Sun Jun 26, 2011 12:08 am

Yes. /thread
Image
droponov
Lead Assistant
Posts: 5,326
And1: 9
Joined: Jul 27, 2010

Re: Is this a travel? 

Post#113 » by droponov » Sun Jun 26, 2011 12:15 am

TheOUTLAW wrote:
So what, he released the ball before his pivot foot returned to the floor.

And rule c) applies to when a player is starting the dribble. How the heck Kobe violated rule c)?



That is why it would be considered switching his pivot foot. Once it is established stepping onto the other foot is considered a travel provided the pivot is still not on the floor.


Says who? You can't just make up rules. I mean, you can, but they don't apply to NBA games.

You are allowed to pick up your pivot with your other foot still on the ground and you are allowed to pick up your pivot foot and land on the other foot (non pivot foot). I mean, this happens in 90% of the plays. Every time a player picks up the dribble and goes for a lay-up he's "switching the pivot", I guess.
User avatar
Wavy Q
RealGM
Posts: 24,317
And1: 2,390
Joined: Jul 10, 2010
Location: Pull Up
     

Re: Is this a travel? 

Post#114 » by Wavy Q » Sun Jun 26, 2011 12:16 am

This sounds like a question for The_Ref

Can you jump off of the opposite foot after your other foot has been established as the pivot foot.
User avatar
sixerswillrule
RealGM
Posts: 16,685
And1: 3,628
Joined: Jul 24, 2003
Location: Disappointment

Re: Is this a travel? 

Post#115 » by sixerswillrule » Sun Jun 26, 2011 12:31 am

Jay From LA wrote:This sounds like a question for The_Ref

Can you jump off of the opposite foot after your other foot has been established as the pivot foot.


According to the rules, you can.

However, it is a common belief that you cannot, evident by this thread obviously. That's why there's so much confusion. Many people have just always thought this to be a travel, for some reason. It doesn't help that you rarely see this move used in the NBA, where a player clearly picks up his pivot and jumps off the other foot. In most cases, the player comes reasonably close to jumping off of both feet. If this was done blatantly and more often, then the rule would become more clear to everyone.
grimballer
Banned User
Posts: 833
And1: 0
Joined: Apr 27, 2011

Re: Is this a travel? 

Post#116 » by grimballer » Sun Jun 26, 2011 12:35 am

droponov wrote:
grimballer wrote:
Volcano wrote:From what I gather, you're allowed to step (i.e. lift your pivot foot as the rule book says), not hop (which would be an up and down).

It's not called switching your pivot feet. That would be like calling a 2 step lay-up establishing two pivot feet.


its different

2 step layup allows u to take 2 steps in continuation. ur not allowed to take onr step, stop then take another.

what kobe did is pick up his dribble, established his left foot as pivot, snips, plant his right foot, then lift his left (pivot) foot.

thats a travel.


Do you realize you just wrote that pivoting is travelling?


do u realize u have no idea what u talkin about?
grimballer
Banned User
Posts: 833
And1: 0
Joined: Apr 27, 2011

Re: Is this a travel? 

Post#117 » by grimballer » Sun Jun 26, 2011 12:38 am

sixerswillrule wrote:
Jay From LA wrote:This sounds like a question for The_Ref

Can you jump off of the opposite foot after your other foot has been established as the pivot foot.


According to the rules, you can.

However, it is a common belief that you cannot, evident by this thread obviously. That's why there's so much confusion. Many people have just always thought this to be a travel, for some reason. It doesn't help that you rarely see this move used in the NBA, where a player clearly picks up his pivot and jumps off the other foot. In most cases, the player comes reasonably close to jumping off of both feet. If this was done blatantly and more often, then the rule would become more clear to everyone.


k, so answer my previous ex.


receive the ball in the post

establish his left foot as pivot

do couple of jab steps with his right foot

then take a big step or hop with his right foot without dribbling

n as long as his left foot is in the air its not a travel?
jnghiem005
Ballboy
Posts: 46
And1: 11
Joined: Jul 14, 2006

Re: Is this a travel? 

Post#118 » by jnghiem005 » Sun Jun 26, 2011 12:39 am

That is NOT a travel. I use to do a little basketball reffing for a league. You can take a step after you established a pivot, but the pivot foot cannot come back down the player must either shoot or pass. The KEY word is SHOOT or PASS!
User avatar
Egg Nog
Lead Assistant
Posts: 5,139
And1: 8,381
Joined: Oct 27, 2007
Location: Vancouver

Re: Is this a travel? 

Post#119 » by Egg Nog » Sun Jun 26, 2011 12:39 am

Mikistan wrote:This discussion again?

How many times does the GB have to do this. You are looking at the wrong part of the rulebook. That rule is about "starting a dribble" as another poster said.

If you look farther there is a part about leaving the pivot foot. The ball must be passed or shot BEFORE the pivot foot comes BACK DOWN to the ground.

Think about it this way. Kobe establishes his pivot foot with the first spin move (his back to the basket) going baseline. If he jumped and shot at that point it is no different than if he spins again and shoots the way he did.

It is not a travel until his pivot foot comes down again. It is two steps until that foot comes down to make a third.

Legal move.


Exactly.
User avatar
sixerswillrule
RealGM
Posts: 16,685
And1: 3,628
Joined: Jul 24, 2003
Location: Disappointment

Re: Is this a travel? 

Post#120 » by sixerswillrule » Sun Jun 26, 2011 12:40 am

Obviously hopping would be a travel.

But taking a big step with his right foot, picking up his left and then jumping off his right? Legal, according to the rules.
It's never used, I know. Why players don't take advantage of this, I don't know. Maybe they're like many common fans and also believe that it's a travel.
But according to the rules, it's legal.

Return to The General Board