andyo wrote:Debaser wrote:c. In starting a dribble after (1) receiving the ball while standing still, or (2) coming to a legal stop, the ball must be out of the player’s hand before the pivot foot is raised off the floor.
That rule doesn't make sense in this situation. Let's say Kobe decides to shoot off of both feet at the same time, which many of us agree is legal. According to rule (c), it's a travel since he didn't release the ball before lifting his pivot foot.
No, I think your interpretting the rule wrong. If Kobe "decided to shoot off both feet at the same time", it would be legal becaused. If a player, with the ball in his possession, raises his pivot foot off the floor, he must pass or shoot before his pivot foot returns to the floor. If he drops the ball while in the air, he may not be the first to touch the ball.
Rule d) says he must shoot or past once his pivot foot is raised off the floor. Look in the .gif, he takes an extra step after his pivot foot leaves and THEN shoots.
So what, he released the ball before his pivot foot returned to the floor.
And rule c) applies to when a player is starting the dribble. How the heck Kobe violated rule c)?















