The Rodzilla wrote:Clyde Frazier wrote:The Rodzilla wrote:
that is legal
No it isn't. Even in FIBA rules you can't grab the rim, which is what gobert did and why it should have been a violation.
he didn't grab the rim, he played at the ball and made simultaneous contact grazing the rim, so this confirms the sore losing
the spirit of the law is when players touch only the basket or backboard to shake the ball off
It was basket interference. From the rules:
• A player causes the basket to vibrate or grasps the basket in such a way that, in the judgement of an official, the ball has been prevented from entering the basket
or has been caused to enter the basket.
Essentially, if contact with the basket or backboard, whether intentional or incidental, is significant enough to prevent the ball from going in.
It is clear on the replay that the basket is moving side to side after the contact made by Gobert. That contact on the rim is significant enough to prevent the ball from entering the basket, which is what happened.
Goaltending. 1 point plus a technical foul.


















