Although I am a Lauri supporter, please do not shoot me as I come in peace

I am trying to make some sense on the play Chicago-Bull-E posted above from the Cavs game last night.
I already posted my question on general board but did not really get a definitive answer and if I learned something over the years spent here, it is that there is some deep NBA knowledge around.
This is what I posted in GB and I am really interested whether the rule I am asking after exists as I cannot find it myself.
Thanks already beforehand.
-----------------------------
I watched this play quite a few times and I need some help understanding how it is possible for the refs to end up with the decision they did. In my 35 years of playing, coaching and following basketball in general I have never seen two separate aspects of this play happen before.
1. Count a basket on a shot which is taken 3-4 seconds and two passes after whistle was blown
2. Count a basket on a missed shot when there is no goaltending in play.
The only way I could think refs made the decision they did, is that they thought the shot was taken before the whistle and there is a rule in NBA which would make bench interference equal to goaltending. Does someone know whether the latter is the case?
/TSS