F More than 2 Years
26%

Total votes: 19

KGdaBom
RealGM
And1: 4,921

Over under on litigation duration 

Post#1 » by KGdaBom » Sun Mar 31, 2024 9:17 pm

This poll is intended for how long it will take for a binding ruling. Not counting endless appeals.
KGdaBom
RealGM
And1: 4,921

Re: Over under on 

Post#2 » by KGdaBom » Sun Mar 31, 2024 9:42 pm

The title was supposed to be Over/Under on Wolves ownership litigation. I'm not good with making polls. Can somebody help?
shrink
RealGM
And1: 15,000

Post#3 » by shrink » Sun Mar 31, 2024 10:28 pm

This avoids initial litigation if the NBA Board of Governors doesn’t accept Lore and ARod’s debt-financed latest offer, and they meet next month. I don’t know what’s in the other owners’ best interests, but I am pretty sure they aren’t going to allow any more, potentially under-financed new owners trying to buy a franchise on a lay away plan.

Even if you trust Taylor more than ARod and Lore, this could still be a bad thing. It means that there will be less potential new owners. When Taylor sells or dies, his heirs are going to want to sell their shares. I don’t see Becky Taylor owning the team, like we saw from the widows in POR and NOP. And without Glen, they could sell to the highest bidder, who may not want to stay in Minnesota with its old, unprofitable, arena.

Even then, it’s probably not the last we’ll hear of ARod and Lore. Without Board approval they can’t own the team, but they will likely sue for financial reimbursement, and I wouldn’t blame them if they wanted to sell their parts of the franchise - again, without Glen’s conditions of keeping it in Minnesota. I think someone said Glen is largest share owner with 48%, so if they could unify all the other limited owners, with 52%, they can do lots of damage in court, and to more than just Taylor. That litigation could take a long long time.
younggunsmn
Lead Assistant
And1: 1,438

Re: Over under on litigation duration 

Post#4 » by younggunsmn » Mon Apr 1, 2024 5:55 pm