ImageImageImageImage

Can Magic keep this team together? How can Magic be in contention?

Moderators: UCF, Knightro, Howard Mass, UCFJayBird, Def Swami, ChosenSavior, SOUL

MasterGMer
Veteran
And1: 586

Can Magic keep this team together? How can Magic be in contention? 

Post#1 » by MasterGMer » Sat Mar 16, 2024 2:22 am

First of all, I am not a cap expert. Franz Wagner's Qualifying Offer deadline is June 29th 2024. And Jalen Suggs QO is 6/29/25. Franz is probably a Max contract player and Jalen Suggs could demand a considerable amount also. Paolo's QO is 2026 and Paolo is sure a max contract player.

I know Magic has a huge cap space this upcoming summer. But I do not expect a lot of moves because I think the Magic is preparing to retain Paolo and Franz.

Right now the biggest reason of Magic's big cap room is a collection of rookie contracts. Could Magic fall into the old OKC situation with Durant, Westbrook and Harden? Can Magic retain all our core and keep this team together?

Also another side question I have is how can Magic keep raising the ceiling of our young team? Organic development of our young stars? Or pull all our draft assets plus young talents to make a big trade?

Could Magic be in contention in the next 2 or 3 years? How?
Knightro
Forum Mod - Magic
Forum Mod - Magic
And1: 24,375

Re: Can Magic keep this team together? 

Post#2 » by Knightro » Sat Mar 16, 2024 2:23 am

Yes.
ibraheim718
Knicks Forum Point God
And1: 14,487

Re: Can Magic keep this team together? How can Magic be in contention? 

Post#3 » by ibraheim718 » Sat Mar 16, 2024 2:29 am

The NBA is structured so that yeah you can keep this team together. Just pay them.
RookieStar
RealGM
And1: 5,838

Post#4 » by RookieStar » Sat Mar 16, 2024 2:40 am

Yes
SOUL
Forum Mod - Magic
Forum Mod - Magic
And1: 37,660

Post#5 » by SOUL » Sat Mar 16, 2024 2:44 am

ibraheim718 wrote:The NBA is structured so that yeah you can keep this team together. Just pay them.