ImageImageImageImage

Who's your #1 target this summer?

Moderators: UCF, Knightro, Howard Mass, UCFJayBird, Def Swami, ChosenSavior, SOUL

Skybox
RealGM
And1: 5,632

Who's your #1 target this summer? 

Post#1 » by Skybox » Thu Mar 21, 2024 2:55 pm

Who do you hope the FO goes hard at - either by trade, FA signing, or even draft? Name your #1 priority

To make it worthwhile, limit your choices to players that have some realistic reason to possibly be available. Tatum, Steph, Luka...aren't going anywhere...but you could make a case that Trae or Klay might, for example. IF you're prioritizing saving trade assets and/or young players that would likely be included, then UFA's or even monster offers to RFA's might be your direction. The beauty of this summer is that our FO...if they REALLY want someone...can make it happen-in a variety of ways.

Mine, at the moment is ...Dejounte Murray.

I think he's the one guy that is very likely available for a price that does NOT compromise our defense. In fact, he would escalate our on-ball savagery while also handling PG on-ball as needed and still having explosive offensive potential (I'd expect him to average 18ppg with 6+ assists-but he's also a guy that might put up 30 a few times, as opportunities and double-teams present. Other guys would come cheaper or just for cap space, but he checks a lot of boxes and really zero compromises (as opposed to some of the offensive aces we discuss). Our best trade assets are picks and cap space (maybe WCJ, Cole...), so it'd likely be a three-way as ATL probably isn't looking to take a deep dive.

Imagine adding that much offense AND defense in one shot...my follow up would be to try to grab a rim protector like Claxton...but, not until we have some added offense coming from where it belongs - the backcourt.
Petre1978
Sixth Man
And1: 373

Re: Who's your #1 target this summer? 

Post#2 » by Petre1978 » Thu Mar 21, 2024 3:28 pm

Malik Monk
eyriq
Retired Mod
Retired Mod
And1: 6,265