Question about non-guaranteed contracts

drj
Analyst
And1: 71

Question about non-guaranteed contracts 

Post#1 » by drj » Tue Feb 24, 2009 9:32 pm

What are the rules and limitations with regard to non-guaranteed contracts? It seems like non-guaranteed contracts are great trade bait--better than expiring contracts--insofar as the other team can just waive the player at no cost.

So for instance consider the following scenario: the Knicks now have two open roster spots, and may have a third if Marbury is bought out. So they sign three D-league players for 2 year contracts, each with the second year non-guaranteed, at the highest salary slot possible. The Knicks then go into the offseason with these three contracts as trade chips, essentially being able to offer multi-million dollar instant cap relief. Would this be legal??
skorff26
Analyst
And1: 17

Re: Question about non-guaranteed contracts 

Post#2 » by skorff26 » Wed Feb 25, 2009 12:25 am

I'm not an expert, but I think it would be plausible except there wouldn't be any multiple million dollar a year savings since the most that they could sign a player for is at minimum salary since they do not have cap space or available exceptions. So maybe next year they could have 3 players with 1 million dollar each unguaranteed that they could move, but that's about it.
drj
Analyst
And1: 71

Post#3 » by drj » Wed Feb 25, 2009 3:24 am

Thanks skorff.
I didn't mean to focus exclusively on the Knicks scenario (though I admit that it is what I had in mind.)
I was more thinking in general as a way to circumvent the cap rules, and in effect take on more salary than one is trading away.
JES12
RealGM
And1: 122

Post#4 » by JES12 » Thu Feb 26, 2009 4:39 am

I think other exaples include Bowen, Oberto, Stackhouse, Najera (2010), Dooling (2010).
skorff26
Analyst
And1: 17

Post#5 » by skorff26 » Thu Feb 26, 2009 1:14 pm