sixerswillrule wrote:Picking up your pivot foot while still on the ground is a travel. Period.
LMAO, this guy, so relentless he can't even absorb the information right in front of his stupid face.
In addition to the OFFICIAL NBA RULES ALREADY POSTED
Limitations on Using Your Pivot Foot
Having established a pivot foot, you may, within defined limits, pivot, shoot, pass, or dribble. To pivot, you may step with the non-pivot foot in any direction, provided the ball of the pivot foot remains in contact with the court and does not move laterally.
You may raise your pivot foot to shoot or pass, provided the ball leaves your hand/s before the pivot foot returns to the court.
When executing a dribble, however, you must ensure that the ball leaves your dribbling hand before the pivot foot leaves the court.
Q: Player A picks up the dribble with both feet on the ground. He then steps (jabs) with his right several time to the right. (This establishes the left foot as the pivot foot.) He then steps to the left with his right foot with the left (pivot) foot planted on the ground. He then lifts the left (pivot) foot while the right foot is on the ground, jumps off the right foot and shoots the ball before the pivot foot is returned to the floor.
Several of my friends say this is a travel, even though the rule states that once the pivot foot is established, the player may lift it as long as the player shoots or passes the ball before it returns to the floor.
The difference of opinion here between my friends and I is that, they say he can only lift the pivot foot if the other foot is lifted at the same time. (i.e. he can jump of both feet but not lift the pivot and then jump off the other foot).
Can you please clarify?
A: The play is legal. There is no restriction on when or how the pivot foot may be lifted, just the restriction you mentioned after the pivot foot is lifted.