DQuinn1575 wrote:picko wrote:If he had thrown the ball off the backboard, caught it and then landed (without the dunk / shot) then it would have been a travel.
Passing the ball to yourself without it hitting the backboard would be viewed as a travel. After passing it to yourself you'd need to immediately shoot / pass it on the catch before you hit the ground.
No, the rules say "A player may not be the first to touch his own pass unless the ball touches his back- board, basket ring or another player." - so he CAN pass the ball to himself off the backboard (which I didn't realize until I read the rulebook)
Thank you, sirs. You're the only two who addressed my question; this has gone nearly 2 pages of debating the step-thru, which picko fairly well put to bed in like the 5th post or something [and I which I hopefully have put fully to bed in post #38 quoting the official rulebook], confirming THAT is legal.
It was everything after the step-thru I wasn't sure about. So, thanks DQuinn. Can you please provide a link or direction to the section that specifically states what you've quoted there?
Side question: does the same rule apply to a missed shot? i.e it must make contact with the backboard, rim, or another player before the shooter can touch it again (cannot be an air-ball, basically).
I was previously under the impression that a shot must make contact with the rim or another player before the shooter can touch it again [or else it's a travel]. But will contact with the backboard suffice, too?