what is or is not a travel?

Moderators: Clyde Frazier, Doctor MJ, trex_8063, penbeast0, PaulieWal

trex_8063
Forum Mod
Forum Mod
Posts: 12,609
And1: 8,238
Joined: Feb 24, 2013
     

Re: what is or is not a travel? 

Post#41 » by trex_8063 » Tue May 3, 2022 7:02 pm

DQuinn1575 wrote:
picko wrote:If he had thrown the ball off the backboard, caught it and then landed (without the dunk / shot) then it would have been a travel.

Passing the ball to yourself without it hitting the backboard would be viewed as a travel. After passing it to yourself you'd need to immediately shoot / pass it on the catch before you hit the ground.


No, the rules say "A player may not be the first to touch his own pass unless the ball touches his back- board, basket ring or another player." - so he CAN pass the ball to himself off the backboard (which I didn't realize until I read the rulebook)


Thank you, sirs. You're the only two who addressed my question; this has gone nearly 2 pages of debating the step-thru, which picko fairly well put to bed in like the 5th post or something [and I which I hopefully have put fully to bed in post #38 quoting the official rulebook], confirming THAT is legal.

It was everything after the step-thru I wasn't sure about. So, thanks DQuinn. Can you please provide a link or direction to the section that specifically states what you've quoted there?

Side question: does the same rule apply to a missed shot? i.e it must make contact with the backboard, rim, or another player before the shooter can touch it again (cannot be an air-ball, basically).
I was previously under the impression that a shot must make contact with the rim or another player before the shooter can touch it again [or else it's a travel]. But will contact with the backboard suffice, too?
"The fact that a proposition is absurd has never hindered those who wish to believe it." -Edward Rutherfurd
"Those who can make you believe absurdities, can make you commit atrocities." - Voltaire
DQuinn1575
Sixth Man
Posts: 1,951
And1: 712
Joined: Feb 20, 2014

Re: what is or is not a travel? 

Post#42 » by DQuinn1575 » Wed May 4, 2022 12:13 am

trex_8063 wrote:
DQuinn1575 wrote:
picko wrote:If he had thrown the ball off the backboard, caught it and then landed (without the dunk / shot) then it would have been a travel.

Passing the ball to yourself without it hitting the backboard would be viewed as a travel. After passing it to yourself you'd need to immediately shoot / pass it on the catch before you hit the ground.


No, the rules say "A player may not be the first to touch his own pass unless the ball touches his back- board, basket ring or another player." - so he CAN pass the ball to himself off the backboard (which I didn't realize until I read the rulebook)


Thank you, sirs. You're the only two who addressed my question; this has gone nearly 2 pages of debating the step-thru, which picko fairly well put to bed in like the 5th post or something [and I which I hopefully have put fully to bed in post #38 quoting the official rulebook], confirming THAT is legal.

It was everything after the step-thru I wasn't sure about. So, thanks DQuinn. Can you please provide a link or direction to the section that specifically states what you've quoted there?

Side question: does the same rule apply to a missed shot? i.e it must make contact with the backboard, rim, or another player before the shooter can touch it again (cannot be an air-ball, basically).
I was previously under the impression that a shot must make contact with the rim or another player before the shooter can touch it again [or else it's a travel]. But will contact with the backboard suffice, too?



Rulebook link https://official.nba.com/rulebook/

You can rebound your shot that hits the backboard, but not an airball

"A player who attempts a field goal may not be the first to touch the ball if it fails to touch the backboard, basket ring or another player."

To me what always seems weird is that the 24 second clock does not reset if it hits the backboard, only the rim.

And you can shoot or pass after lifting your pivot foot, but must do so before the foot lands

"If a player, with the ball in his possession, raises his pivot foot off the floor, he must pass or shoot before his pivot foot returns to the floor. If he drops the ball while in the air, he may not be the first to touch the ball."
trex_8063
Forum Mod
Forum Mod
Posts: 12,609
And1: 8,238
Joined: Feb 24, 2013
     

Re: what is or is not a travel? 

Post#43 » by trex_8063 » Wed May 4, 2022 12:53 am

DQuinn1575 wrote:No, the rules say "A player may not be the first to touch his own pass unless the ball touches his back- board, basket ring or another player." - so he CAN pass the ball to himself off the backboard (which I didn't realize until I read the rulebook)

Rulebook link https://official.nba.com/rulebook/



Yeah, that's the same rulebook I cited/linked previously. Can you direct me to the rule/section/passage that contains the portion you've quoted?
"The fact that a proposition is absurd has never hindered those who wish to believe it." -Edward Rutherfurd
"Those who can make you believe absurdities, can make you commit atrocities." - Voltaire
Gooner
Head Coach
Posts: 6,591
And1: 5,415
Joined: Sep 02, 2018
 

Re: what is or is not a travel? 

Post#44 » by Gooner » Wed May 4, 2022 7:04 am

trex_8063 wrote:
Gooner wrote:
This is not a new rule because it's not even a rule. It's a misinterpretation of the rule where refs and fans are using lift of a pivot foot as an axcuse to do a traveling violation. That's what this is all about. There is no rule that states that you can make an extra step after lifting a pivot foot, not even today. You can only shoot or pass. Pivot foot by the definition means that you are attached to a SPOT. No more steps after that.


Except that there IS a rule that explicitly states otherwise.....

https://official.nba.com/rule-no-10-violations-and-penalties/

NBA Rulebook (Rule #10, Section XIII, paragraph d) wrote:If a player, with the ball in his possession, raises his pivot foot off the floor, he must pass or shoot before his pivot foot returns to the floor. If he drops the ball while in the air, he may not be the first to touch the ball.


The rule states that you have to shoot or pass after raising the pivot foot. There is no rule that says you can lift the pivot foot and make a step with your other foot because that is a travel by the definition. Pivot foot means you've stopped on the spot, there is no more steps in that situation.
User avatar
Morb
Junior
Posts: 332
And1: 86
Joined: May 08, 2017
 

Re: what is or is not a travel? 

Post#45 » by Morb » Wed May 4, 2022 8:42 am

I think players just don't know about this? Like they don't know about gather+2 early.

Sent from my Nokia 5.1 Plus using RealGM mobile app
PG Lebron '09, SG T-Mac '03, SF Durant '14, PF ????, C Wemby '26.
no-zone-baby))
trex_8063
Forum Mod
Forum Mod
Posts: 12,609
And1: 8,238
Joined: Feb 24, 2013
     

Re: what is or is not a travel? 

Post#46 » by trex_8063 » Wed May 4, 2022 6:59 pm

Wow....

Anyway. I think picko, DQuinn1575, and myself have pretty well put this baby to bed. Will consider locking this one if it doesn't die of natural causes.
"The fact that a proposition is absurd has never hindered those who wish to believe it." -Edward Rutherfurd
"Those who can make you believe absurdities, can make you commit atrocities." - Voltaire
falcolombardi
General Manager
Posts: 9,510
And1: 7,112
Joined: Apr 13, 2021
       

Re: what is or is not a travel? 

Post#47 » by falcolombardi » Wed May 4, 2022 7:07 pm

Gooner wrote:
trex_8063 wrote:
Gooner wrote:
This is not a new rule because it's not even a rule. It's a misinterpretation of the rule where refs and fans are using lift of a pivot foot as an axcuse to do a traveling violation. That's what this is all about. There is no rule that states that you can make an extra step after lifting a pivot foot, not even today. You can only shoot or pass. Pivot foot by the definition means that you are attached to a SPOT. No more steps after that.


dude, it has been told over and over, with bideos of fiba or ncaa refs and the actual text in the nba rulebook that says is legal

do you just hate giannis?
Except that there IS a rule that explicitly states otherwise.....

https://official.nba.com/rule-no-10-violations-and-penalties/

NBA Rulebook (Rule #10, Section XIII, paragraph d) wrote:If a player, with the ball in his possession, raises his pivot foot off the floor, he must pass or shoot before his pivot foot returns to the floor. If he drops the ball while in the air, he may not be the first to touch the ball.


The rule states that you have to shoot or pass after raising the pivot foot. There is no rule that says you can lift the pivot foot and make a step with your other foot because that is a travel by the definition. Pivot foot means you've stopped on the spot, there is no more steps in that situation.


dude, it has been told over and over, with bideos of fiba or ncaa refs and the actual text in the nba rulebook that says is legal

do you just hate giannis?.
penbeast0
Senior Mod - NBA Player Comparisons
Senior Mod - NBA Player Comparisons
Posts: 30,327
And1: 9,885
Joined: Aug 14, 2004
Location: South Florida
 

Re: what is or is not a travel? 

Post#48 » by penbeast0 » Wed May 4, 2022 7:15 pm

People still can't separate disagreeing on posts from questioning or attacking other posters. I think trex is right and I am closing this thread.
“Most people use statistics like a drunk man uses a lamppost; more for support than illumination,” Andrew Lang.

Return to Player Comparisons